Your Councillors by Political Grouping

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:



 Liberal Democrat

  • Mike Bell

    Weston-super-Mare Central

    Deputy Leader of the Council

  • Mark Canniford

    Weston-super-Mare Hillside

    Executive Member for Placemaking and Economy

  • Ashley Cartman

    Long Ashton

    Executive Member for Corporate Services

  • Caroline Cherry

    Clevedon Walton

  • John Crockford-Hawley

    Weston-super-Mare Hillside

    Chairman of the Place Policy and Scrutiny Panel

  • Wendy Griggs


    Chairman of the Children and Young People's Policy and Scrutiny Panel

  • Huw James

    Portishead South

  • Patrick Keating

    Blagdon and Churchill

  • Robert Payne

    Weston-super-Mare Central

    Assistant Executive Member for Parking Strategy (working with Cllr Mark Canniford)

  • Geoffrey Richardson

    Clevedon West

    Chairman of the Partnerships, Corporate Organisation and Overview Management Policy and Scrutiny Panel



 Of no political group